Archives for September 2015

COE, CEA reps bag 1st Mr & Ms ISAT U title

Zesrimar F. Historia of the College of Education (COE) and Joan C. Porras of the College of Engineering and Architecture (CEA) bagged the first ever title of Mr. and Ms. Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT U) during the pageant night held on Sept. 1 at the ISAT U Multi-Purpose Gym.

Historia also romped off with the Mr. Photogenic, People’s Choice, Best in Sports Wear and Best in Formal Attire Special Awards. .Porras, on the other hand, won the Ms. Photogenic Award, People’s Choice Award and Best in Formal and Cocktail Attire.

Other winners of the title were Rio Apolinario III (College of Arts and Sciences-CAS) and Rhinae Mae O. Palma (College of Industrial Technology-CIT), 1st runner up;  Christian Arsaga (CIT) and Roma Abelarde (CAS),  2nd runner up; Mharbani B. Ma-ambong (CEA) and Michelle Ann Malabayabas (Miag ao Campus), 3rd runner up; and Christine Jessica D. Martin (COE) with Jetro Tigulo (Miag ao Campus), 4th runner up.

During the competition, the candidates displayed their poise, beauty and intelligence. which was gauged through the interview. Arsaga (CIT) and Malabayabas (Miag ao Campus) nailed the pageant's interview portion.

Adjudged Mr. and Ms. Congeniality, another special award, were Apolinario (CAS) and Palma (CIT).  

For the Minor awards, Ma-ambong (CEA) and Malabayabas (Miag ao Campus) were proclaimed best in production number award; Historia (COE) and Malabayabas (Miagao Campus), best in sports wear competition; Apolinario  (CAS) won the best in formal wear while Porras (CEA) won best in Cocktail attire competition;  and Historia (COE) and Abelarde(CAS),  best in gown and formal attire.

“We might produce national and international beauty queens,” said Dr. Raul F. Muyong, University President, in his speech. The activity, according to Dr. Muyong, is in keeping the university's goal to develop well-rounded individuals through extra-curricular activities.

Alfred Jor el Espinosa, Michelle Marie Monte Gacuma and Rexcel John B. Sorza served as judges.

The new titlists will represent ISAT U  in the  Regional  Search for Mr. and Ms State Colleges and Universities Athletic Association (SCUAA)  in Roxas City, Capiz tentatively scheduled on December 14-18, 2015.


Univ installs new president

The Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT U) formally installed Dr. Raul F. Muyong as its first University President in investiture rites held on Sept. 3.

Dr. Muyong’s investiture, which is four months after he was elected, started at 4:00 p.m. at the ISAT U Multi- Purpose Educational Center.

During the investiture rites, Dr. Manuel A. Sanchez,Jr., VP for Academic Affairs, presented the University President to the academic community while Dr. Mergie C. Gasataya, University Board Secretary, read the Board Resolution of the university president's appointment. . 

Dr.Rex Casiple, CHED, Educational Program Specialist, read the appointment issued by Dr. Patricia B. Licuanan, CHED Chairperson, on behalf of Commissioner Maria Cynthia Rose B. Bautista, Chair-Designate, ISAT U Board of Regents,  

Dr. Casiple also vested the academic robe, academic hood and cap, Imposed the President’s Medallion and  presented the President’s Mace.

On behalf of Dr. Licuanan, Dr. Rex C. Casiple,  also administered the oath taking of the University President.

In his speech, Dr. Muyong expressed his sincere gratitude to the people who helped him including his former professors, friends, colleagues and relatives.

“Now, is a great opportunity for me to serve,” said Dr. Muyong in his investiture address.

Dr. Muyong also thanked the ISAT U community for trusting and believing in him. He is the fourth president of WVCST and upon its conversion  became the first  president of the newly converted university.

Guests who gave their greetings to the new university president were Jerry P. Treñas, Congressman, Lone District of Iloilo City represented by Atty. Joseph Edward Carreon; Hon. Jed Patrick E. Mabilog, Mayor, Iloilo City; Dr. Cesar H. Medina, Director, CHED, Region VI represented by Dr. Nenie M. Galedo, Education Supervisor, Commission on Higher Education (CHED); Dir. Lily Ann R. Baldago, Director, Professional Regulation Commission (PRC), Region VI; Dr. Ricardo E. Rotoras, National President, Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC) represented by Dr. Herbert Glenn Reyes, PASUC Executive Director;

Others present and who also gave their greetings were Dr. Luis M. Sorolla, Jr., President, West Visayas State University (WVSU) and the National President of the Accrediting Agency for Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACUP); Dr. Manuel D. Corpus, Executive Director, AACUP; Dr. Nora M. Ponce, President, Zamboanga State Polytechnic College (ZCSPC) and the President of Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities of Industrial Technology (PACUIT) represented by Dr. Renato V. Alba, President Emeritus, ISAT U; Dr. Joel P. Limson, President, Northern Iloilo Polytechnic State College (NIPSC) and the President of PASUC Region VI.  

Dr. Ma. Eugenita C. Capaciete, gave the greeting on behalf of the campus administrators. Regent Jonathan C. Antiquiera, Regent Leo S. Sombiro and Regent Losette A. Dela, on the other hand, gave their messages representing their respective organizations.

The members of the Search Committe for the WVCST Presidency namely Dr. Emerlinda R. Roman, Dr. Isabela L. Mahler, Prof. Samie M. Billanes, Dr. Joel P. Limson, and Mr. Celso G. Javelosa were also awarded plaques of recognition.

A dinner for all the guests, faculty and staff capped the event. 



ISAT U fetes university hood key players

The Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT U) feted five distinguished individuals who served as key players in the educational institution's conversion into a  university in a testimonial dinner. 

Feted and awarded plaques of recognition during the testimonial dinner on August 31 at the Del Rio Hotel, Molo, Iloilo City, were Senator Franklin M. Drilon , Congressman Jerry P. Trenas,  President Emeritus Renato V. Alba, Dr. Luis M. Sorolla Jr., and Dr. Nehema K. Misola.

Due to some personal commitments, Sen. Drilon was represented by Mrs. Eleanor Drilon Gregorio while Cong. Trenas by Mr. Noel Panaguiton.

The recepients and their representatives delivered their testimonial speeches after the awarding.

In her speech, Dr. Misola, Chairperson and Focal Person of the university hood conversion, expressed her joy as she looked back to the challenges the school encountered in its quest for university status.

Dr. Sorolla, the former president of the institution, also expressed his overwhelming joy and gratitude in the achievement of the university status. 

In his opening remarks, Dr. Raul F. Muyong, President, ISAT U, stated the reasons why the ocassion is special. 

"First, we celebrate it as a newly-converted university. Second, it's the Diamond Jubillee of the ISAT U Teacher Education. Third, we have a new President,. The fourth President of the institution and the first President of the University," said Dr. Muyong.

A video about  the institution’s history and its journey towards conversion into a university  was also  presented. 

A candle lighting ceremony in the pool area was also held followed by a fireworks presentation.

A community singing of the new ISAT U hymn, composed by Dr. Sorolla, Jr. and Edgar Jimena, capped the event.



ISAT U Quick Links