The Iloilo Science and Technology University held an Investiture for the 2nd University President of the institution today, January 19, 2024 at the Multi-purpose Educational Center.

Dr. Gabriel M. Salistre, Jr. who rose from the ranks succeeded Dr. Raul F. Muyong, and became the 2nd University President on August 5, 2023.

The Investiture ceremony was officiated by CHED Chair J. Prospero De Vera III. The ceremony included the reading of the appointment as university president, the presentation and donning of the academic regalia, presentation and turn-over of the university mace, and the signing of the oath of office.

In his President’s address, Dr. Salistre expressed that leading the university is God’s will and because of that he will work hard to fulfill the vision and mission of ISAT U. He promised that he will uphold transparency in his leadership and will work hard for the greatness of ISAT U. Although he said that the responsibility of the university president is not easy, he believes that he would be able to surpass the challenges through God’s guidance and through the effort of everybody. He encouraged the faculty and staff to work hand in hand with him and set aside the differences to be able to achieve the goals of the university. “Whatever achievement or status the university has, is not about individual effort but the collaboration of the people working for the good of the university.” “We will be one as a university no matter what campus you are. Let us march forward and put ISAT U on a pedestal of excellence,” he added.

Dr. Salistre is looking forward to more academic achievements by providing the students quality education through the expertise of highly qualified professors and teachers. He also promised to support not just the faculty but everyone who works for ISAT U goals.

The Investiture ceremony was attended by University Presidents from State Universities and Colleges in Western Visayas, Regional Directors of different government agencies, the Board of Regents, faculty and staff, friends, mentors and family members of the university president.