The Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT U) conducted its Commencement Exercises with the theme “2023 Graduates: Advancing Resilience, Innovation and Excellence” held at Iloilo Convention Center, July 3.

A total of 3835 degrees were conferred to students who successfully finished the Academic Year 2022-2023 requirements.

Of the graduates, 1999 from Iloilo City Campus completed the bachelor’s degree, 338 tradeans from Barotac Nuevo Campus, 242 from Dumangas Campus, Leon and Miag-ao Campus with 297 and 959 graduates, respectively.

In the Advanced Education Program (Graduate School) for Master’s Degree holders, 11 from the College of Education (COE), College of Arts and Sciences with 7 and 5 from the College of Industrial Technology.

For the Doctorate Degree completers, COE and CIT produced 7 and 2, respectively.

The 35 graduates from the Evening Vocational Course were also conferred.

In the morning, Engr. Rowen R. Gelonga, CESO II, Director, Department of Science and Technology, Regional Office VI and Member of the ISAT U Board of Regents was the guest speaker for ISAT U External Campuses.

Dr. Raul C. Alvarez Jr., CESO III, Director, Commission on Higher Education, Regional Office VI was the event’s commencement speaker in the afternoon. In his speech, Director Alvarez embraced the graduate’s two things “First, work and serve with your honesty. Second, love your parents because you are the scholars of the Philippines. Defend your country.”

He also eased the meaning of SUCCESS in the abbreviation of ISAT U. “I- Industry, S- Steadfast, A- Accountability, T- Truthfulness, and U- Unwavering Service.”

The presentation of candidates for graduation was presented by respective Deans and confirmed by Dr. Raul F. Muyong, SUC President III.

The investiture of Hoods and Awarding of Diplomas was assisted by Ms. Hazel S. Bautista, University Registrar together with Dr. Raul F. Muyong, Dr. Corazon C. Corbal (VPAA), Dr. Gabriel M. Salistre Jr. (VPAF), Dr. Carmelo V. Ambut (VPRE), Dr. Nemia H. Mabaquiao (VPEA) and Deans of respective colleges.

The President Academic Excellence award was given to Stephen T. Soliman BSHM from ISAT U Miagao Campus and The event concluded with the pledge of loyalty led by Mr. Anselmo A. Mediodia III, President, Senior Supreme Council and induction of graduates to the alumni association by Atty. Leo S. Sombiro, President, ISAT U Alumni Association, Inc.