The Iloilo Science and Technology University celebrated its 6th years as a University despite the many threats brought about by the pandemic with the theme, “ISATU: Upholding Quality and Excellence in Higher Education amidst COVID-19 Pandemic”. As part of the anniversary celebration, different infrastructure was inaugurated and blessed.

These projects include the Access Route amounting to P14,959,567.28; Student Services Building worth P47,564,708.80; and the ISAT U Gender Center amounting to P3,078,170.70.

The virtual event was graced by the presence of the University’s Alumni Association President, Atty. Leo S. Sombiro.  Dr. Gabriel Salistre Jr., Vice President for Administration and Finance together with the University President, Dr. Raul F. Muyong. Also present were Mr. Jahleel Arizala, President of the Federated Student Republic from Dumangas campus, Campus Administrators, deans and the VPs of the University.

Right after the inauguration and the blessing, the Eucharistic Celebration followed and it was officiated by Rev. Fr. Marcelino Cortez, Jr and was attended by the different University staff.

The virtual celebration highlighted not just the newly constructed infrastructures but also the President’s State of the University Address wherein Dr. Muyong discussed the different programs and initiatives, achievements, projects, and important University updates. Select students also showcased their talents in music through a virtual intermission number.

The City Mayor, Hon. Jerry Treńas congratulated the entire ISATU community in his video message. Mayor Treńas is considered as the father of the University because he is one great influence why the then WVCST was converted to ISATU today.

Dr. J Prospero De Vera III, CHED’s chairperson joined the celebration virtually as well and he gave emphasis that for six years, ISATU has achieved a lot as a leading Science and Technology University in the region.

“History must have changed your name but the reputation of being innovative par excellence surely remains. I salute you for all your work, achievement and your continuing perseverance to deliver quality education to the students…”