The Iloilo Science and Technology University and the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) signed an agreement as Partner-Implementers in the implementation of the Sagana at Ligtas na Tubig sa Lahat (SALINTUBIG), Assistance to Disadvantaged Municipalities (ADM), and other Water and Sanitation Governance Programs under the Western Visayas Integrated Safe Water, Sanitation and Hygiene (WeV-iWaSH) Hub.

As stipulated in the Philippine Development Plan and Philippine Development Forum, the DILG is the lead agency for the capacity of development of participating municipalities of the above-mentioned programs.

The Memorandum of Agreement was signed by Dr. Raul F. Muyong, ISAT U President and Atty. Anthony C. Nuyda, Regional Director, DILG RO 6 on August 29, 2017. Stated in the agreement, the school through its mandates for research and development and extension services that are expected to benefit local communities will provide assistance and collaboration to achieve the objectives of WeV-iWaSH Hub.

The establishment of  WeV-iWaSH Hub for Capacity Development enables target municipalities with waterless barangays to access the basic water related services during the period 2017-2022. The participating institutions of the regional hub provides expertise, knowledge and information on iWaSH governance and extends guidance and motivation to the participating municipalities on how to avail iWaSH services. It also empowers and capacitates stakeholders by providing pool of trainers, and through trainings and alternative learning approaches to acquire, manage and sustain facilities for water and sanitation. It also provides assistance in the monitoring and evaluating the performance and in documentation of good practices of iWaSH in the participating municipalities. The partner-implementers will likewise develop Capacity Development Programs, and Business Plan for the sustainability of the Regional iWaSH Hub.

Through the Research and Services Division, ISAT U assisted the DILG in implementing the program in the municipalities of Mambusao and Pilar in the Province of Capiz.