The Iloilo Science and Technology University (ISAT U) formally installed Dr. Raul F. Muyong as its first University President in investiture rites held on Sept. 3.

Dr. Muyong’s investiture, which is four months after he was elected, started at 4:00 p.m. at the ISAT U Multi- Purpose Educational Center.

During the investiture rites, Dr. Manuel A. Sanchez,Jr., VP for Academic Affairs, presented the University President to the academic community while Dr. Mergie C. Gasataya, University Board Secretary, read the Board Resolution of the university president's appointment. . 

Dr.Rex Casiple, CHED, Educational Program Specialist, read the appointment issued by Dr. Patricia B. Licuanan, CHED Chairperson, on behalf of Commissioner Maria Cynthia Rose B. Bautista, Chair-Designate, ISAT U Board of Regents,  

Dr. Casiple also vested the academic robe, academic hood and cap, Imposed the President’s Medallion and  presented the President’s Mace.

On behalf of Dr. Licuanan, Dr. Rex C. Casiple,  also administered the oath taking of the University President.

In his speech, Dr. Muyong expressed his sincere gratitude to the people who helped him including his former professors, friends, colleagues and relatives.

“Now, is a great opportunity for me to serve,” said Dr. Muyong in his investiture address.

Dr. Muyong also thanked the ISAT U community for trusting and believing in him. He is the fourth president of WVCST and upon its conversion  became the first  president of the newly converted university.

Guests who gave their greetings to the new university president were Jerry P. Treñas, Congressman, Lone District of Iloilo City represented by Atty. Joseph Edward Carreon; Hon. Jed Patrick E. Mabilog, Mayor, Iloilo City; Dr. Cesar H. Medina, Director, CHED, Region VI represented by Dr. Nenie M. Galedo, Education Supervisor, Commission on Higher Education (CHED); Dir. Lily Ann R. Baldago, Director, Professional Regulation Commission (PRC), Region VI; Dr. Ricardo E. Rotoras, National President, Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC) represented by Dr. Herbert Glenn Reyes, PASUC Executive Director;

Others present and who also gave their greetings were Dr. Luis M. Sorolla, Jr., President, West Visayas State University (WVSU) and the National President of the Accrediting Agency for Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines (AACUP); Dr. Manuel D. Corpus, Executive Director, AACUP; Dr. Nora M. Ponce, President, Zamboanga State Polytechnic College (ZCSPC) and the President of Philippine Association of Colleges and Universities of Industrial Technology (PACUIT) represented by Dr. Renato V. Alba, President Emeritus, ISAT U; Dr. Joel P. Limson, President, Northern Iloilo Polytechnic State College (NIPSC) and the President of PASUC Region VI.  

Dr. Ma. Eugenita C. Capaciete, gave the greeting on behalf of the campus administrators. Regent Jonathan C. Antiquiera, Regent Leo S. Sombiro and Regent Losette A. Dela, on the other hand, gave their messages representing their respective organizations.

The members of the Search Committe for the WVCST Presidency namely Dr. Emerlinda R. Roman, Dr. Isabela L. Mahler, Prof. Samie M. Billanes, Dr. Joel P. Limson, and Mr. Celso G. Javelosa were also awarded plaques of recognition.

A dinner for all the guests, faculty and staff capped the event.