Western Visayas College of Science and Technology (WVCST) has a new college President.

During the April 22, 2015 election at the Commission on Higher Education (CHED)- Central Office, Dr. Raul Federiso Muyong was elected as the fourth President of the college by the WVCST Board of Trustees.

CHED Chairperson Patricia B. Licuanan administered the oath taking of Dr. Muyong after the election. He will serve a term of four years starting April 23, 2015 to April 22, 2019.

Prior to his election, Dr. Muyong served as the Campus Administrator of WVCST-Miag ao Campus from 2008 to 2015, Campus Dean from 2004 to 2006 and an Officer-in-charge in 2002. From a College Instructor, he became Professor VI. He also taught in Southern Iloilo Polytechnic College (SIPC) presently known asWVCST-Miag ao Campus as a high school teacher and an Elementary teacher in Agutayan-Lupa Elementary School.

He graduated with a Bachelor of Science in Industrial Education major in Auto-Diesel Technology degree as magna cum laude in WVCST in 1986.As a college student, he showed excellence as a leader, scholar and a writer having been an Associate Editor of the college Technovator.

He finished his Master’s degree in Industrial Education major in Educational Management in 1991 also in WVCST and completed his Doctor of Education major in Educational Management in West Visayas State University (WVSU) in 1997.

With all of his achievements, Dr. Muyong has already proven himself long before being elected as the College President. He has rendered his expert services such as being one of the accreditors of the Accrediting Agency of Chartered Colleges and Universities in the Philippines, Inc. (AACUP) and as a member of the Region VI- Regional Quality Assurance Team (RQAT).

He has also received various awards for his works in the field of Education and his performance in the Managerial aspect has been rated ‘outstanding’ for the last five years.

Dr. Muyong is also an author of various books on Education such as “Laws, Policies and Rules and Regulations on Philippine Education,” published in 2011.

Being a pro-student, Dr. Muyong would like to focus on improving the school’s Academic Programs in order to create centers of excellence. He also plans to do curricular mappings and as much as possible submit all of the school’s programs for accreditation.

The WVCST Board of Trustees is composed of CHED Chairperson Patricia B. Licuanan; Sen. Pia Cayetano, Chair, Senate Committee on Education represented by Mr. Noel de Guia ;Rep. Roman Romulo, Chair , House Committee on Higher and Technical Education represented by Cong. Jerry Treñas, Representative, Lone District of Iloilo City; Dir. Ro-Ann A. Bacal CESO III, Regional Director National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA)-Region VI; Dir. Rowen R. Gelonga, Regional Director, Department of  Science and Technology (DOST)-VI; Dr. Manuel A. Sanchez, Jr., OIC-President, WVCST; Atty. Leo Sombiro, President, WVCST Alumni Association; Mrs. Elena P. Villa, President, WVCST Faculty Association; Mr. Brandon P. Rivera, President, Student Republic; Nemesio P. Jardeleza and Salvador D. Sarabia, Private Sector representatives.