In order to choose the best researches possible for entry to the Philippine Association of State Universities and Colleges (PASUC) research contest, 105 select students of the college presented their theses during the students’ science and technology research exhibits and symposium.

The presentations of the theses ,which was held on March 11, 2015 was held at the Western Visayas College of Science and Technology (WVCST) EdTech Center, was participated in by the Bachelor of Industrial Technology, Bachelor of Science in Hotel and Restaurant Technology, Bachelor of Science in Information Technology, Bachelor of Science in Information System, and Bachelor of Science in Computer Science students.

Nine entries came from the industrial product category; eight from the food product Category; and 12 from the information communications Technology (ICT) category.

The ICT category, which has the most numbers of participants, was divided into two subcategories: algorithm and system.

The participants from the Bachelor of Science in Industrial Technology presented their studies with their invented gadgets while the Hotel and Restaurant Technology (HRT) students showed their food for sampling. The ICT students, on the other hand, presented their systems and applications.

The following are the winners:

Food Category


Research Title


Caryl Faye Batan, Welma Baldoza,Lleani Mecha

Breadnut Seed Polvoron

1st place

Kristel Jade Palma, Mary Luna Herezo, Daria Dagoc , Leo Angelo Hocate

Coconut Activated Charcoal Powder Chocolate Cookies

2nd place

Irish Jade Catolico, Ruby Jean Hudierez, Jerilyn Jagunap

Banana Peel Loaf

3rd place

ICT Category


Arc Noe Bernal, Mary Joy Apolinario, Cherry Gronifillo, Magdalene May Toledo

Algorithm Running Time Solver

1st place

Jessica Suganob, Sajarah Dawn Bangero, Zarah Neil Cachero, Elland Jahn Ilustre

Logic Circuit Virtual Simulator Using Quine- McCluskey Algorithm and Bresenham's Algorithm

2nd place

Fedg Dema-ala, Clarence Agudos, Edgar Julit Jr.

Barcode-Watermasked Video Using Barcode4J Xuggler and Zhing Algorithm

3rd place


Ian Dela Cruz, Karla Dumalag, Rhodel Jardio, Freahlyn Soberano

Classroom Monitoring with Face Recognition System

1st place

Marielle Sucaldito, Joycie Poliquit, Joylen Ymalay, Kimberly Da-anton, Jeanette Gayanggorsa 

HRT Service Center Online Booking and Reservation System

2nd place

Jason Jan Egomes, Angeline Clarion, Ruby Rose Suerte, Ma. Carmella Tan

Student Affairs Information System

3rd Place

Industrial Product Category

Neil Evarie Ferman, Joel Sidon Jr., Edilberto Umadhay Jr.

Radiant Energy Generator

1st Place

Rex A. Artagame, Von D. Deaño, Jhonn Omir Favila, Gaspar Villasis

Retractable Engine Base

2nd Place

Roel B. Barabona, Jifford G. Elevencione, Joey L. Fortunado, Glendo C. Hallegado

Automatic Transfer Switch J42

3rd Place

First placers reecieved Php 2, 000; second placers, Php 1,000; and 3rd placers, Php 500. The winners were also given certificates.

The ICT category, on the other hand, divided the prize for the winners of its two sub categories.

The researches were judged according to originality and novelty, contribution to the field of discipline, complex design, written output and oral presentation.